Bikes and Birds

I birded almost every single day after going to Prospect Park that first time. I’m almost glad I didn’t go to Oakwood Cemetery; concentrating on one location allowed me to create a semi-complete list of birds found at Prospect Park. It’s a shame I only have less than two weeks’ worth of data. I think that next year, I’ll go during the school year, probably even during the winter. I think it’d be neat to create a year-round history of the park.

Also, I added a new bird to my 2009 NY State list every time I went there. I also left RPI with three lifers (Red-bellied Woodpecker, Great Crested Flycatcher, and Carolina Wren) on my list. I know, I’m slow. But that’s mostly because I wasn’t really able to go out often before college. Ah, freedom.

Also, apparently, no one in Troy birds or uses eBird. I recorded (on eBird) the first Chimney Shift (!) and Ovenbird in the county.

——–
And now, updates from MA:

My family got a plot of land at the Acton Community Garden. I’ve always wanted to grow my own food. I think that I’m also going to try to get a good history of the community garden, which lies right next to Icehouse Pond.

I’m working on a biking project this summer. My goal is to be able to ride to Great Meadows, have enough energy to bird there for a couple of hours, and ride back. I want to get to the point where I’m using the bike as transportation. It’s a 11.6-mile trip, not counting the biking/walking during the birding, which is not supposed to be bad, but I have zero biking experience, and I don’t want to be completely worn out before birding. I’m starting small– I did a very hilly 5.6-mile loop in the backroads in North Acton/Carlisle today, and it wasn’t so bad. The hills just kind of sucked, plus I think there’s something wrong with the gears on Tiffany’s bike.

I can’t believe I didn’t think to use the backroads last summer. The backroads open up so many possibilities! I just don’t want to ride on Great Road, where the speed limit is 40 mph. I also can’t believe that Great Meadows NWR is about 5.5 miles away from my house, and I’ve never been there. Unacceptable. I will remedy this this summer.

Leave a Reply

